Categories: Politics

List of Nigerian Senate Presidents That Were Impeached

Politics Nigeria: In Nigerian politics, Impeachment simply refers to the act of questioning the integrity of something. It has to do with charging senior political officials of crimes which renders them unfit for continuing in the office. Some of the crimes that could instigate impeachment includes, bribery, corruption, misappropriation of public funds, human rights infringement, etc.
The result of impeachment is outright sacking of the official involved.

In politics in Nigeria, Governors, house of assembly speakers and senators have all been sacked in Nigeria by impeachment.
Nigeria has had 11 Senate Presidents since independence. Some served their full terms while others were impeached.

This article highlights the Nigerian Senate Presidents that were impeached:

1. Evan Enwerem

Nigerian senate presidents that were impeached

He was impeached for alleged perjury and age falsification. He was President of the senate from June 3, 1999 – November 18, 1999. Evan Enwerem was a senator representing Imo-east senatorial district. His reign as the president of Nigerian senate was short lived. After his impeachment from the senate president position, Enwerem continued as a senator till 2003. He later died in 2007 after a brief illness. Chief Enwerem is one of the two Nigerian senate presidents that were impeached.

2. Dr. Chuba Okadigbo

Nigerian senate presidents that were impeached

Dr. Chuba okadigbo was President of the Senate between 1999–2000. The senate voted to impeach him following demands for his resignation over allegations of corruption. In 1999, Chiba Okadigbo was elected as a senator representing Anambra state North senatorial district. He became the speaker of the Nigeria after the impeachment of Chief Evan Enwerem. He was widely regarded as an opposing factor to the PDP and was unceremoniously impeached in 2000 and demoted to an ordinary senator. In 2002, he defected to the All Nigeria people’s party and was the presidential running mate to General Mohamadu Buhari. Dr. Chuba Okadigbo is one of the two Nigerian senate presidents that were impeached.

Thanks for reading. Please share this post and comment!

List of Nigerian Senate Presidents That Were Impeached was last modified: August 22nd, 2018 by Francis Belux
Francis Belux

Published by
Francis Belux
Tags: Chuba okadigboEvan EnweremimpeachedNigerian senate presidents

Recent Posts

Yuletide: NURTW health task force to check drivers’ fitness in Lagos

The National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), on Wednesday, said it had set up a health task force to…

1 hour ago

2019: FCT youths task politicians on job creation

Some youths in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), have called on politicians, especially the Area Council Chairmen in FCT, to…

1 hour ago

Court dismisses suspended Kogi APGA chairman’s libel suit

A Kogi High Court sitting in Idah on Wednesday dismissed a  libel suit filed by suspended Kogi chairman of the…

1 hour ago

Tricycle rider in court over alleged cultism

A 20-year-old tricycle driver, Ibrahim Kazeem, alleged to be a member of an unlawful society was on Wednesday brought before…

1 hour ago

Don’t sponsor advertisements for my Birthday – Atiku warns (REASONS)

Former Vice President of Nigeria and presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) enjoins his family, friends, and associates…

2 hours ago

OPEC will work to stabilise markets at next meeting: Iraqi deputy minister

An Ilorin Senior Magistrates’ Court on Wednesday ordered that Afolabi Stephen, 42, be remanded in Mandalla prison yard for allegedly…

2 hours ago