Full List of all the Political Parties In Nigeria 2018
Connect with us


Full List of all the Political Parties In Nigeria 2018



Political parties in Nigeria

A political party can be described as a collection of people of like minds having the same views, goals and aims. Their views are always politically inclined to influence the mindset of people on who to vote (party candidate) and how to vote.
It is the duty of the political parties in Nigeria to organise nominations and presentation of their candidates for elections.

Citizens pass information to the government via the political parties. They articulate and mobilize the populace for massive participation in elections. In politics in Nigeria, political parties are veritable tools for the management of the country’s democracy.
Nigeria operates a multi-party system since we have more than two political parties

In this article we shall list all the political parties in Nigerian politics and some few information about them

List of All Current Political Parties in Politics Nigeria

1. Accord Party

Accord is registered by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as one of the political parties in Nigeria. Its ideology includes corporatism, populism, and capitalism.
The National Chairman of Accord party is Honourable Mohammad Lawal Nalado.

2. Action Alliance [AA]

AA stands for Action Alliance. It was formerly called National Mass Movement of Nigeria (NMMN), and is one of the registered political parties in Nigeria. Its vision is built around the empowerment of Nigerian youths and women. The National Chairman is Barrister Udeze Kenneth.

3. Advanced Congress of Democrats [ACD]
Advanced Congress of Democrats officially created and first registered in March 2006. It was primarily made of aggrieved PDP members who kicked against the 3rd term bid of President Olusegun Obasanjo. The acting National charmirman of the party is Mr. Peter Blavo.

4. Allied Congress Party of Nigeria [ACPN]
ACPN, Allied Congress Party of Nigeria, is one of the political parties in Nigeria.
The National Chairman of the party is Alhaji Ganiyu .O. Galadima.

5. Alliance for Democracy [AD]
The Alliance for Democracy is one of the political parties in Nigeria. AD was formed on the 9th of September, 1998. A leadership tussle ensued in the party in 2006 and most of the key members pulled out to join the action congress. Chief Joseph Awazi is the National chairman of the party.

6. African Democratic Congress [ADC]
ADC is officially registered as one of the political parties in Nigeria.
The National Chairman of ADC is Chief Ralph Okey Nwosu.

7. Action Democratic Party [ADP]
Action Democratic Party is otherwise known as God’s own party. The National Chairman is Engineer Yabayi .V. Sani.

8. All Grand Alliance Party [AGAP]
The National Chairman of AGAP is Engineer Okey Chikwendu. It is a registered political party in Nigeria.

9. African Peoples Alliance [APA]
The watch word of APA is peace, unity and development. It is one of the political parties in Nigeria and its motto is peace, unity, and development. The acting National Chairman is Emmanuel Urhuarhovie.

10. All Progressives Congress [APC]
All Progressive Congress became one of the registered political parties in Nigeria on 31st of July, 2013. APC is currently the ruling party in Nigeria. President Buhari is currently a member of the party. It was formed by a coalition of the three key opposition parties – Action congress in Nigeria (ACN), Congress for progressive change (CPC) and All progressive grand alliance (APGA). The national chairman of the party is Adams Oshiomhole.

11. Advanced People Democratic Alliance [APDA]
The National Chairman is Mohammed Shittu Kabiru.

12. All Progressive Grand Alliance [APGA]
The All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), like other political parties in Nigeria was registered in the year 2002 and Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu was the party candidate at the 2003 presidential elections.

13. Action People’s Party [APP]
African Peoples Party is also one of the political parties in Nigeria.
The National Chairman is Ikeagwuomu Onyinye.

14. Better Nigeria Progressive Party [BNPP]

Better Nigeria Progressive Party is one of the political parties in Nigeria re-registered in 2016.
The National Chairman is Professor Godswill Iheanyichukwu Nnaji.

15. Democratic Alternative [DA]

16. Democratic People’s Congress [DPC]

17. Democratic Peoples Party [DPP]

18. Fresh Democratic Party [FDP]

19. Green Party of Nigeria [GPN]

20. Hope Democratic Party [HDP]

21. Independent Democrats [ID]

22. Kowa Party [KP]

23. Labour Party [LP]

24. Masses Movement of Nigerian [MMN]

25. Mega Progressive People’s Party [MPPP]

26. National Action Council [NAC]

27. National Conscience Party [NCP]

28. National Democratic Liberty Party [NDLP]

29. Nigeria Elements Progressive Party [NEPP]

30. New Generation Party [NGP]

31. New Nigeria People Party [NNPP]

32. Nigeria People Congress [NPC]

33. National Unity Party [NUP]

34. People for Democratic Change [PDC]

35. People Democratic Movement [PDM]

36. People’s Democratic Party [PDP]
The PDP ruled Nigeria for 16 Years until the APC defeated them in the 2015 presidential elections. The National chairman of the party is uche secondus.

37. Progressive People’s Alliance [PPA]

38. Peoples Party of Nigeria [PPN]

39. Peoples Progressive Party [PPP]

40. Peoples Redemption Party [PRP]

41. Social Democratic Party [SDMP]

42. Socialist Party of Nigeria [SPN]

43. United Democratic Party [UDP]

44. Unity Party of Nigeria [UPN]

45. United Progressive Party [UPP]

46. Young Democratic Party [YDP]

47. Young Progressive Party [YPP]

48. All Blending Party [ABP]

49. All Grassroots Alliance [AGA]

50. Alliance for New Nigeria [ANN]

51. Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party [ANRP]

52. Coalition for Change [CFC]

53. Freedom and Justice Party [FJP]

54. Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria [GDPN]

55. Justice Must Prevail Party [JMPP]

56. Legacy Party of Nigeria [LPN]

57. Mass Action Joint Alliance [MAJA]

58. Modern Democratic Party [MDP]

59. National Interest Party [NIP]

60. National Rescue Movement [NRM]

61. New Progressive Movement [NPM]

62. Nigeria Democratic Congress Party [NDCP]

63. People Alliance for National Development and Liberty [PANDEL]

64. People’s Trust [PT]

65. Providence People’s Congress [PPC]

66. Re-build Nigeria Party [RBNP]

67. Restoration Party of Nigeria [RPN]

68. Sustainable National Party [SNP]

Thanks for reading. Please share this post by hitting the share button. Make your contributions to this post by using the comment box.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

Email: Politicsngr[at]gmail.com

Latest Rates

Currency Interbank Rate Parallel Rate
USD ₦307 ₦361
GBP ₦396 ₦473
EUR ₦348 ₦411

Updated on February 8, 2019 at 11:56 am

rant 300x250 - Full List of all the Political Parties In Nigeria 2018