Delta Assembly approves extension of tenure of DESOPADEC board
Connect with us


Delta Assembly approves extension of tenure of DESOPADEC board



The Delta Assembly has approved Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa’s request for the extension of the tenure of the current board of the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC) by six months.

The approval of the request followed the motion moved by the Majority Leader, Tim Owhefere, which was seconded by Mrs. Erhiatake Ibori-Suenu (PDP-Ethiope West).
The motion was unanimously adopted when the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori, put it to a voice vote.
Oborevwori had earlier read the governor’s letter in which he said that the current governing board of DESOPADEC expired on Monday.

Okowa said that the request for the board’s tenure extension was in line with Section 7 (2b) of the DESOPADEC Amendment Law, 2018, praying the assembly to approve it by six months.
The assembly also received another letter from the governor, nominating, Mr. Benjamin Igo and Dr. Frank Atube, for appointment as Chairman and Secretary, Delta Bureau of Local Government Pension, respectively.

Igo retired as a Permanent Secretary from the state civil service.
Consequently, the Speaker directed the nominees to submit 35 copies of their Curriculum Vitae to the office of the Clerk of the House, and appear for screening on Thursday.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

Email: Politicsngr[at]

Latest Rates

Currency Interbank Rate Parallel Rate
USD ₦307 ₦361
GBP ₦396 ₦473
EUR ₦348 ₦411

Updated on February 8, 2019 at 11:56 am