Connect with us


Glo CAF Awards 2016 : Full list of Award winners

Emma Nwachukwu



glo caf awards 2016 - Glo CAF Awards 2016 : Full list of Award winners
  • Iwobi, Buhari, others win at prestigious Glo CAF awards 2016

Below is a comprehensive list of winners at the just concluded Glo caf awards 2016. A gala was held in Abuja at the International conference centre (ICC) to recognize the best footballers on the African continent.

Riyad Mahrez of Algeria was the biggest winner of the night as he clinched the award for 2016 best African footballer, an award previously held by Pierre Aubameyang.

The CAF Platinum awardwent to Nigeria’s leader, Muhammadu Buhari.

GLO CAF awards 2016 Full list of award winners;

  1. Football Leader award: Manuel Lopes Nasciment the President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation
  2. CAF Platinum award: Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari
  3. African Player of the year: Riyad Mahrez
  4. National team of the year : Uganda
  5. Player of the year based in Africa : Denis ONYANGO
  6. Team of the year: Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  7. Women’s national team of the year : Super Falcons
  8. Mamelodi Sundowns : Club of the year
  9.  Most promising talent : Kelechi Iheanacho
  10. Youth player of the year : Alex Iwobi
  11.  Coach of the year : Pitso Mosimane
  12. Asisat Oshoala: Women’s player of the year
  13. Bakary Papa Gassama: Referee of the year
  14. Laurent Pokou and Emilienne Mbango: Legend award

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

Email: Politicsngr[at]