Second time : Abuja high court reaffirms and orders Dasuki’s release

  • Court issues second order for Dasuki’s release

A high court in Abuja has for the second time,affirmed the bail granted to embattled former security adviser, Sambo Dasuki and 5 others standing trial for the $2.1 billion arms deal.

Presiding judge, Justice Yusuf Baba reaffirmed Dasuki’s bail conditions on the grounds that the former NSA was entitled to it. Dasuki and five others were re-arraigned before Justice baba on the same criminal charges that were transferred from Justice Peter Affen of the FCT High Court.

22 charges were read to the six accused persons who all pleaded not guilty. Raji Ahmed, counsel to Dasuki filed for the reaffirmation of the former NSA’s bail which was first affirmed in December 2015.

Related:   Photos of council boss sentenced to 7 years in Prison for fraud in kaduna

Ahmed stated that it was on record that FCT high court 24 had granted Dasuki bail before his illegally arrested and detained by the DSS. He argued that since the case had been transferred to Justice Baba, the DSS had been removed from the matter, adding that the ex-NSA was only facing charges from the EFCC.

Related:   Security operatives shut down National assembly

The counsel argued that it is wrong of the prosecution counsel, Rotimi Jacobs, to have objected to the reaffirmation of the bail condition on Mr. Dasuki.

Raji further stated that  Dasuki had in his possession a judgment from the ECOWAS Court which ordered the release of Dasuki and a fine of N15,000,000 million on the Nigerian government.

EFCC counsel, Rotimi Jacobs stated that he was not against the bail conditions of the other five facing trial with Dasuki, adding that the ex-NSA was not ‘allowed’ to enjoy bail. The five other people facing trial alongside Dasuki include : Former Finance Minister of State, Bashir Yuguda; a former Director of Finance and Administration in the Office of the National Security Adviser(ONSA), Shuaibu Salisu; Dalhatu Investment; Sagir Attahiru Bafarawa and a former Sokoto State governor, Attahiru Bafarawa.

Related:   Glo CAF Awards 2016 : Full list of Award winners

The matter was adjourned till February 24th, 2017.

Copyright 2017 Politics Nigeria. Permission to use quotations from this post is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *